Skip to content

The Price of Trust

October 26, 2016

“we ought to obey God rather than men” Acts5:29


What are they really saying? I’m not suggesting the inspired wording is wrong; it’s just that there is always more to what we say than just what we say.
In 2 Chron 14-16 we see examples. King Asa of Judah fears the Lord, loves the Lord. Facing an army of over a million from Ethiopia: “Lord it is nothing for You to help, whether with many or with those who have no power; help us”.
But much later in his career, an older man, in a similar bind, surrounded by the northern Kingdom of Israel, Asa seems to lose heart. Under the pressure of threat, Asa calls on Syria’s help in place of God’s! Hadn’t he grown in faith? Hadn’t the Lord shown up before? Shouldn’t it get easier to trust God?
So when the disciples are arrested, probably mistreated, thrown in jail, then having escaped, it means something when they said, “we’re gonna obey God not you”. They said more than that – “we trust God”. This is real life.

Trusting God always costs something. 

 It often costs me perceived comfort, perceived safety, perceived riches – again all these things are perceived because they are from my physical perspective, not His, eternal perspective. He may be calling me to something difficult, hard and even painful, but no good thing does He withhold from those who fear Him!

In my life, this is one way I learn to die to myself, and come to experience and know a greater work of the life of Christ inside of me… “the power of His resurrection, and the fellowship of His sufferings” as Paul put it in Philippians 3:10. And I’ve found it is always better to trust, that I might know Him!
Lord help me to trust You always – above all else. Strengthen my heart by Your Spirit to be courageous today trusting You.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

